The Six Oslo Walking Tours, Compared

The table
Every figure here was read from the activity pages on 22 September 2026. Where a listing does not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing. On a phone the table scrolls sideways; I would rather make you swipe than drop four of the six columns.
| Biggest sampleCentral Oslo, with a local guide | Best of Oslo | Myths & Legends, after dark, ages 13+ | City Highlights, guided in German | City Center walk | With an independent guide | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Guided in | English | English or German | English | German only | English | English or German |
| Duration | 2 hours | 2 hours | 2 hours | 2 hours | 90 minutes | 135 minutes to 3.5 hours |
| Group size | Not published. Private groups available on request | Not published | Not published | Not published | Described as small groups; no cap published | Maximum 10 guests. Shared or private |
| Meets at | Jernbanetorget, the square outside Oslo Central Station, by the bronze tiger | Two places. English: the University Aula, Karl Johans gate 47, by the P.A. Munch statue. German: the Nobel Peace Center, Brynjulf Bulls plass 1 | The swan fountain by the entrance to Oslo City Hall, Fridtjof Nansens plass | The Nobel Peace Center entrance | The tiger statue in front of Oslo Central Station | The Skapning fra Iddefjord sculpture outside the Deichman Bjørvika library |
| What is included | Professional guide. Tips are listed under inclusions | Guide, a sightseeing mobile app, public transport tickets, entry to attractions | Guide, hotel pickup and drop-off, all taxes | A guide, working in German | A local guide | Guide, hotel pickup and drop-off, tram tickets if the Vigeland Park option is taken |
| Not included | Nothing further itemised | Nothing further itemised | Food and drink | Nothing further itemised | Entry tickets to anything | Food and drink |
| Age limit | None stated | None stated | Ages 13 and over only | None stated | None stated | None stated |
| Accessibility | Not stated on the listing | Not stated on the listing | Not suitable for mobility impairments. Not wheelchair accessible | Not stated on the listing | Not stated on the listing | Not suitable for mobility impairments or wheelchair users |
| The tip question | Answered outright: tips are included, so nothing is expected at the end | Not addressed either way on the listing | Not addressed either way on the listing | Not addressed either way on the listing | Not addressed either way on the listing | Not addressed either way on the listing |
| Rating when read | 4.7 from 1,710 reviews | 4.6 from 523 reviews | 4.8 from 517 reviews | 4.8 from 307 reviews | 4.8 from 95 reviews | 5.0 from 101 reviews |
| Route | The classic central kilometre | The classic central kilometre | The same streets after dark, told as folklore and crime | The classic central kilometre, in German | The classic central kilometre, twelve stops, faster | The classic central kilometre, plus Vigeland Park by tram if you want it |
| Book this → | Book this → | Book this → | Book this → | Book this → | Book this → |
Reading it row by row
Guided in. This is the row that changes outcomes. The City Highlights walk is guided in German only, its listing title is in English, and on the category page it sits between English walks with almost the same name. People book it by accident. Best of Oslo and the independent-guide walk run in either language, which sounds convenient until you reach the meeting point row. Everything else is English, and English is very widely spoken in Oslo in any case, which is exactly what lulls people into not checking the guiding language.
Duration. Ninety minutes at the short end, three and a half hours at the long end, and four of the six sitting on two hours. Over roughly a kilometre of ground, the extra time is not extra distance. It is stopping, and answering questions, and standing still in front of the Parliament while somebody explains why it was built where two streets were joined together in 1866. That is the whole product, and it is why ninety minutes and three and a half hours over the same ground are genuinely different purchases.
Group size. Only one of the six publishes a number, and it is ten. The others say nothing, and I am not going to invent a figure for them. This matters more than almost anything else on the table, because group size is what decides whether you can hear the guide on Karl Johans gate with a tram going past. Small-group walks is the page for that.
Meets at. Five different starting points across the centre, and two walks that meet in different places depending on which language you booked. Best of Oslo is the sharp one: English at the University Aula by the P.A. Munch statue, German at the Nobel Peace Center, which are not near each other. Getting that wrong does not mean a confusing start. It means missing the walk. Where each walk meets describes all five on the ground.

What is included. Best of Oslo bundles the most by a distance: an app, public transport tickets, entry to attractions. The City Center walk bundles the least: a guide, and explicitly no entry tickets to anything. Two walks include hotel pickup and drop-off. It is worth noticing that the most bundled walk is also the lowest rated at 4.6, which is what usually happens when a product has more that can fail.
Age limit. One row, one entry. The Myths and Legends evening walk is for ages 13 and over only and is not wheelchair accessible. Nothing else on the table states an age limit, which does not mean a two-hour walk on cobbles suits a five-year-old.
Accessibility. Two walks state that they are unsuitable for people with mobility impairments: the evening walk, which is for ages 13 and over only and also not wheelchair accessible, and the walk with the independent guide. The other four say nothing either way, and silence on a listing is not a promise. Kvadraturen has cobbles and the fortress has a slope, whichever walk you are on. See accessibility.
The tip question. This is the row that brought most people to this site without their knowing it. The central Oslo walk lists tips under its inclusions, which is an unusually direct answer: nothing is expected at the end. The other five say nothing either way. None of the six is a tip-based walk — that product is not sold on this platform at all, and it works in a way that is worth understanding before you book anything. Free walking tours in Oslo and tipping a guide in Norway cover both halves of it.
Where the ratings actually land
Four point six to five point zero, across samples of 95 to 1,710. Set out like that the spread looks decisive and it is not. The 5.0 comes from 101 reviews and the 4.7 from 1,710; those are not the same kind of claim, and one bad morning moves a 101-review average in a way it cannot move a 1,710-review one. The 4.6 belongs to the walk with the most included. The three 4.8s are attached to the evening walk, which is ages 13 and over and not wheelchair accessible, to a walk guided in German only, and to a 90-minute walk. Those are three different products being judged by three different sets of expectations.
My own view, after years of watching groups form up at these meeting points: pick the language first, then the clock, then the group size. The stars will not decide anything for you. Which walking tour is best makes that case at length.
What works
- Four of the six cover identical ground, so you can choose on practicalities alone
- One walk answers the end-of-tour money question outright by including tips
- The same route is available at 90 minutes and at three and a half hours
- Two walks include hotel pickup and drop-off
- One walk publishes a group cap of ten and offers a private version
Worth knowing
- One walk is guided in German only and its title is in English
- Two walks meet in different places depending on the language booked
- The evening walk is ages 13 and over and not wheelchair accessible
- Four of the six publish nothing at all about group size
- Four of the six say nothing about accessibility either way
If you take one thing from this table, take the meeting-point row. Two of these walks have two meeting points and they are not near each other. Screenshot the one on your booking confirmation, not the one you remember from the listing page. Where each walk meets has what each of the five looks like when you are standing in front of it.
The six, side by side
The German-language walk below is the City Highlights one; it is guided in German only. The evening walk is ages 13 and over and is not wheelchair accessible.
Most reviewed by farOslo: Guided Walking Tour of Central Oslo with Local Guide
English or GermanOslo: Best of Oslo Walking Tour
After dark, ages 13+Oslo: Historic Myths & Legends Evening Walking Tour
German language onlyOslo: City Highlights Walking Tour
Shortest walkOslo: City Center Walking Tour
Max 10, shared or privateOslo: City Walking Tour with Passionate Independent Guide
Can’t make these dates?
Browse more available Oslo walking tours and find one that fits your schedule — all with instant confirmation and free cancellation.
Frequently asked questions
What is the real difference between Oslo walking tours?
Language, length, group size, meeting point and whether anyone expects money at the end. Not route: four of the six cover the same central kilometre from the Opera House up Karl Johans gate to the Royal Palace. The table above sets all of it out, row by row.
Which Oslo walking tour has the best rating?
The walk with the independent guide, at 5.0 — but from 101 reviews, against 4.7 from 1,710 for the central Oslo walk. Those are not equivalent claims. The whole spread runs 4.6 to 5.0 and sits inside the noise. Which walking tour is best explains why sample size matters more than the tenth of a star.
Which walking tour is guided in German?
The City Highlights walk is guided in German only, rated 4.8 from 307 reviews, meeting at the Nobel Peace Center entrance. Best of Oslo and the independent-guide walk also run in German, but they meet somewhere different when you book the German departure. Walks guided in German has the detail.
Do any Oslo walking tours have an age limit?
One does. The Myths and Legends evening walk is for ages 13 and over only, and it is not suitable for people with mobility impairments and not wheelchair accessible. The other five state no age limit, which is not the same as being built for small children — see walking tours with children.
How many people are on an Oslo walking tour?
Only one of the six publishes a figure: a maximum of ten guests, shared or private. The City Center walk describes itself as small-group without naming a cap, and the other four say nothing. Small-group walks explains why that silence matters.
Is a tip expected at the end of a booked walking tour in Oslo?
The central Oslo walk lists tips under what is included, so no. The rest say nothing either way, and Norway does not run on tipping the way some countries do — it is modest and discretionary here. The tip-based walk is a different product entirely and is not sold on this platform. See tipping a guide in Norway.